top of page

SharkFluencer: ZEE


Time to dive into our next exciting interview with Sharkfluencer and professional merman ZEE! Otherwise known as @thewanteddepths on instagram or you may have caught them on the popular Netflix doc 'MerPeople'.


 

Hi! I'm Zee! I've been a professional merman for 3 years. I've worked in aquariums, swam with “dangerous” wildlife and had more than my fair share of wild tales from the sea.


My love for the ocean and the wonderful life within it has existed since I was very young. I can remember going on beach trips with my family and always spending time at the water. I loved to sit just on the shores edge and let the waves wash over me and pull and push. I loved the feeling so much I would still try to feel the sensation when I was in bed drifting off to sleep, imagining the waves rocking me to sleep. The creatures that exist beneath the surface have always fascinated me and I've done my best through life to try to not only love their world but understand it, so that i can have a hand in protecting it.



The water became a safe place for me, through respect, love and understanding. I want to be able to show others this same safety. In time, I believe if others can do the same, efforts will keep our oceans safe. As I always say: without the oceans, there is no life!


 


Q:) How did you get into the world of merfolk? Tell us more about your personal journey!



My journey into the merfolk world was a spontaneous and robust one. Unlike others in the community who tend to swim steady channels and soft waters I elected to dive deep! I at the time was experiencing large amounts of online harassment. At the same time I came across a video about “The Day In The Life Of A Professional Mermaid” on youtube and I knew the water would provide me with the safety and comfort I desperately craved. So I swam hard into the community, showcasing my talents and skills and really making a splash! The community liked what I was doing and encouraged my journey. This helped give me my voice back and made me feel like I could once again make a difference in the world.


Q:) What do you think makes a good mer? What skills/courses do you think would help set up others for success that want to pursue it?




To me, the first thing that makes a good mer is someone who can understand the balance between the whimsey and the education. We are guardians to the world below and have an ability to reach people and help them gain as much love and passion for the wild world as we do! The best way to do that is to remember that love.


The second thing would be understanding that mermaiding can be dangerous and thereby requires training, one should have strong swimming skills and actively be ready for a wild adventure. 





Q:) Can you tell us about how sharks are viewed in your community? Do you find that people are fearful or 'hate them' or is the general feeling 'live and let live'? Have you noticed any improvements in attitude toward sharks since beginning your work?

    


     It's understood by most merfolk that sharks aren't mindless killing machines. Many see them as animals that exist among the others like turtles and whales. Though I do feel that many still wouldn't choose to come across sharks out in the sea if they had the option. I think there's still work that can be done to bridge the knowledge and passion that mers often have with animals that are more cute, with the ones that appear to be more frightening like sharks. I hope to be a driving force at helping not only the surface world, but the merfolk world understand that these creatures are incredible and should have much more light on them.





Q:) Imagine you woke up as a shark (or other ocean creature) tomorrow- Which shark species would you be and why?



    Definitely a Great Hammerhead Shark, they've been my favorite for a long time and in my opinion one of the most underrated species of shark. Everyone loves the great white for its tenacity and power but there's a reason this hammer also shares the title of Great.



Its use of electroreception goes beyond most if not all other species of shark and its visual ability is second to none. Not to mention their incredible size and they just also look so unique. Without a doubt I'd be a great hammerhead!




Q:) Have you found success in handling people that don’t understand or agree with conservation efforts? Have you found a way to get through to people/communities that may not care about sharks/the environment? 




In my time I've come across many who disagree with efforts made to conservative wildlife. The way I always got through to them wasn't through preaching or belittling but open conversation and understanding. Most people know nothing of the importance of sharks and their role in the environment, and many aspects of our society still villainize them.


Many people do not care for issues unless it's in their backyard. I believe to get that to happen so many more conversations and journeys need to be taken and I am looking forward to diving into those talks, to change more minds!

16 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page