top of page

SharkFluencer: ALEXIS RAIFORD

Thrilled to have educator, marine biologist, writer and political scientist Alexis Raiford - @lexiraiford stopping by for an interview. Lexi talks ocean love, Captain Planet and explains how politics play a vital role in conservation!






"We need more people in government who will advocate for the oceans"









Since I was three years old, I have always been curious about the ocean. The infamous story in my family is when I was a little girl, my great uncle took me to the beach, and as we walked along the shore, I took off as fast as I could and jumped headfirst into the ocean. As my aunt and uncle struggled to get me out of the water, I knew once I was dry, I was going right back in because no matter how intense the current was, it never stopped me or my curiosity. It was not until years later that I realized how defining that moment was, especially when I decided to major in marine biology.


 

Q.) Imagine you woke up as a shark tomorrow- which shark species would you be and why?



If I woke up tomorrow as a whale shark, I would be happy for the rest of my life. Whale sharks remind me of elephants which is my other favorite animal. Whale sharks and elephants are such large animals, and yet they have such a gentle spirit. I find that to be quite awe-inspiring.





Q.) How did you get into the 'political' side of marine science? What keeps you coming back and/or what is so fulfilling about this field?


Politics and marine science have always been intertwined for me. Growing up, I was obsessed with Captain Planet and the Planeteers. It is an animated environmentalist superhero series that first premiered on September 15, 1990. I would watch it every day before school and be so inspired by the end of each episode. The show discussed different environmental-political topics and how people can do their part to put a stop to them. Being involved in marine science's political side came about through my experience as Student Government President in high school. It helped me learn how to be outgoing and put together and defend my argument in a debate.



Over the years, I've worked with incredible people who are determined to protect our planet, and many of them have become dear friends. Through these friendships, I have been able to identify what problems matter most to them and come up with solutions.




Q.) What would you tell/what advice or tips would you say to your past self?

When you think about success, do not think about the things you have accomplished over the years, but the things you have done for others. I came up with this personal mantra when I started college because I have learned kindness and helping others will take you extremely far in life.

For the past two years, I have worked as an afterschool teacher. I am constantly sharing my love for the ocean with my fourth and fifth-grade students. When I share stories about my recent snorkeling trip, they are amazed because they are so used to me being their teacher and nothing else.




Q.) Do you have a 'shark/ocean hero' who you admire for their actions in conservation, or someone you'd want to work with in the future and why?


Dr. Roger Arliner Young is the first person that comes to mind when I think of ocean heroes. She was the first African American woman to receive a doctorate in zoology. When I first started this journey to become a marine biologist, I aspired to get my doctorate in marine biology, but things change, and life happens. Her perseverance allowed her to accomplish a lot in life, and even though her story did not have a happy ending, she became a role model for me. My journey to becoming a marine biologist is vastly different.

I do not work in a lab or do field research, and even though I spend most of my time focused on the political side of marine science, I still consider myself a marine biologist because that is where my journey began. I still aspire to get my doctorate, but this time in political science.

As an army brat, I moved around a lot, but my mom made sure we lived close to the ocean, and every chance I got, that was the first place I wanted to go. I would collect seashells and play in the water for hours, even after my mom would tell me repeatedly that it was time to go. The ocean has always been a constant companion in my life, and I am grateful for my mom because she encouraged me to follow my dreams and for my high school teachers, who put me on the path to become a marine biologist.




Q.) How do you think we can get people to understand how vital legislation is for long term changes in our oceans? More simply, why do "politics" matter to sharks and the ocean?


Politics affect our daily life, whether we know it or not. Our ocean is constantly being shaped by the laws that have been implemented. Many government officials do not believe in climate change, yet they are making decisions on overfishing, marine pollution, aquaculture, deep-sea mining, and conservation.


When you break it down like that, it is easy to understand how vital legislation is for our oceans. We need more people in government who will advocate for the oceans and our environment. Politics is not easy to understand, and most people do not talk about politics with their friends and family due to different political views. I think it is essential to have those conversations because if we all thought the same way, there would be no need for change. If you do not understand politics, then start small. Check your state or even community laws that impact your local environment and go from there. If you care about the laws within your area, your local officials will begin to care also.

58 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page