top of page

SharkFluencer: ISABEL MOORHEAD


Time to dive into our latest SHARKFLUENCER interview with Isabel Moorhead (she/her), founder of a wildlife conservation club at her Seattle high school called: Global Restoration of Wildlife, or GROWL. Let Isabel's story serve as a great reminder- you're never too young to get organized and make change in your community!






"I refuse to have future generations see sharks and other species in storybooks."

 


When/where did your love of wildlife begin?


It is hard to describe exactly when I developed a love for wildlife and the ocean, especially since living in the Pacific Northwest put both directly in my backyard. Yet, I remember many summers I begged to visit the beach during low tide, and the many afternoons I spent entranced with the Crocodile Hunter, Steve Irwin, on my TV.



My favorite book for my parents to read to me at bedtime was I Love Sharks, and I would proceed to name each shark as we flipped the page to it. Something clicked in me during these experiences, and it caused me to develop a passionate love for all wildlife, both above and beneath the waves.


 

How/why did you get into environmental organizing? What advice would you give to another student wanting to do something similar?



In eighth grade, I first got into environmental organizing after a life changing trip to the Pryor Mountains on the border of Wyoming and Montana. I studied wild horses before this trip, but when I was able to visit their range and see them in-person, I fell even more deeply in love with them. While I was up on the range, I was lucky enough to meet Ginger Kathrens, a vocal advocate for wild horses’ right to remain free on government granted lands and the one who created the documentaries I watched about those very same horses. She saw my love for wildlife and encouraged me to volunteer for The Cloud Foundation, I worked to promote awareness through social media, as well as emails and phone calls to governmental representatives.



As my sophomore year of high school approached, I felt a need to do something hands-on for all wildlife species, beyond just wild horses. So, I decided to start a club at my high school in order to work within a larger community.




"I refuse to have future generations only see giraffes, elephants, sharks, and many other species, only in storybooks."



Imagine you woke up tomorrow as a shark! Which species would you be and why?


If I woke up tomorrow as a shark, it would probably be a whale shark. I love how gentle they are, especially with their massive size. If I were to choose a different marine species, I would probably choose a humpback whale. Ever since I read the book Isabel of the Whales when I was younger, I have been entranced by the humpbacks’ beautiful songs, familial structure, and amazing migration.


I also find that they share a kindred curious spirit with me, since they are also very inquisitive, with their curiosity driving them to often approach boats and humans.



Do you have a shark scientist/conservationist hero?


My conservationist hero would probably be Steve Irwin; he was and still is my greatest inspiration because of how his love of wildlife infected me.



His drive and passion is what truly began my own desire to conserve and protect wildlife. As a little girl, I learned about wildlife through his documentaries, making them such an important turning point for me. Although I did not take direct action until high school, I felt such a deep love for wildlife due to the love for it which he instilled in me at such a young age.



Do you have a very favorite wildlife memory you'd like to share?

During summer, I often work up at a horseback camp in the Wenatchee National Forest. One of the best parts of the camp experience is riding out to an out-camp in another valley, and then staying one or two nights before returning to base camp. On the last day of such an excursion, the sun had just begun to set and bathed the entire valley in orange light. This sunset lit up the wildflowers, snowy peaks, and valley walls in a golden glow. One of the campers then pointed up at the rim of one such valley, and we all saw a herd of mountain goats. The herd was navigating the very top of a steep incline, and you could see the little babies running ahead and then returning to their mothers. It was such a heartwarming sight.




How are you impacting conservation efforts in your community? Any success stories or interactions you'd like to share?



I founded a wildlife conservation club at my high school three years ago: Global Restoration of Wildlife, or GROWL. Through this club, I have worked to bring about impact through turning education into action. GROWL has hosted two beach cleanups, with a total of 30 pounds of trash removed from the beach and ocean.






In December 2021, GROWL collected 210 signatures from my high school’s community to add to letters to each of Washington State’s representatives requesting them to cosponsor Recovering America’s Wildlife Act (RAWA). We were very excited to receive a response from Rep. Suzan DelBene, and to later hear the news that the bill successfully passed the House of Representatives.



This past December, club members wrote comments and submitted them to the National Park Service concerning the reintroduction of grizzlies into the North Cascades.




How can people get through to family members or community members that don't care/value the environment?


I believe that whenever dealing with people that don’t possess an aligned view with your own about conservation efforts, it is important to attempt and try to understand their perspective.



"There are always two sides to every story, especially when dealing with conservation."


I believe that the best way to make an impact with these people is to have them experience and learn about wildlife. The feeling someone gets in their gut when they finally see a wild animal face to face is so vital in inspiring anyone to join conservation. It allows them to finally understand the beauty and strength behind the animal, and not just the fear instilled into them from a young age. This holds especially true with species that people fear, such as sharks.

The media has such a powerful voice, and it has worked for decades to turn the population against sharks, crocodiles, grizzlies, and many other species. Yet all these species are vital as keystone species, and many people do not understand how losing a “scary” animal would result in the collapse of entire ecosystems.

19 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page