top of page

SharkFluencer: JILLIAN MORRIS


It's time to dive into our latest SHARKFLUENCER interview with marine biologist, author, photographer, proud mom and founder of Sharks4Kids Jillian Morris (she/her/hers) - otherwise known as @biminisharkgirl on instagram!



"I want kids to know they can make a difference."







Jillian with lemon sharks

(Photo by: Duncan Brake @underwatercameraman)


 

Tell us about yourself


I am a marine biologist, photographer and the founder of Sharks4Kids. My adult life has always revolved around sharks. I am also a mom and love sharing our ocean life with our daughter.


See more videos and learn about sharks on the

Shark4Kids YOUTUBE channel


When/where did your love of the ocean and/or sharks begin?


I am lucky to have parents who love the ocean and who shared that with me from an early age. I grew up on a lake, but we visited the ocean often. We went to Florida for my dad’s work each year, so I was able to snorkel and explore the ocean there as well. I saw my first shark ( a nurse shark) when I was 8 and was obsessed. I immediately started reading books about sharks and all marine life to learn more. I told my parents I wanted to be a marine biologist when I was 5 and it never changed.


Imagine you woke up as a shark tomorrow, which species would you be and why?




Great hammerhead!

I would love to see the underwater world from their point of view.





Jillian with great hammerhead (Photo by: Sophie Hart)



How did you get into marine science? What is so fulfilling about this field?


It was something I always wanted to do. The ocean and sharks fascinate me and I’ve always wanted to learn more. I love sharing my passion for sharks with others in hopes that it inspire them to learn more. Education is critical for conservation and I want people to see how incredible these animals are and why they deserve our respect.


Within your community or abroad, have you noticed any improvement in the attitudes toward sharks since beginning your work?


Having worked in the science, media and education world, I have been lucky to work with people who love sharks and the oceans.



I have definitely encountered people who hate sharks and want them dead. We have to be able to hear all sides of the story in order for conservation to be successful.


We need to provide opportunities for experiences and understanding. I have seen people go from fear to fascination, especially kids. It’s remarkable how first hand experiences can change the way people think about something. I love when that change happens, as I think it makes an impact that can last a lifetime.




Jillian tagging a tiger shark (Photo by: Duncan Brake)


What’s an ultimate goal for your work? What do you (or other people) hope to get out of it?


I want kids to know they can make a difference. I want them to know they are far more powerful than they realize. I also want people to realize sharks are not monsters, but are actually really important for our oceans. You do not have to love them, but we need people to respect them. Ultimately I wasn’t to change fear and misunderstanding into fascinations and respect.


You wrote a book! Can you tell us about your process and why you decided to write it? Why a nurse shark?


I'd always wanted to write a children’s book, so when Sharks4Kids was born it seemed like the right fit. I have actually written 2 books and the process was so much fun for both. It’s definitely more work than I realized, but I learned so much.


Jillian with Nurse sharks

(Photo by: Duncan Brake)



Norman the Nurse Shark is one of our main cartoon characters and I feel like nurse sharks are a great shark ambassador. They do not get as much attention as great whites, but are such an awesome animal. Nurse sharks were the first sharks I ever went diving with and also the first species of shark I tagged. They will always have a special place in my heart. The story was inspired by a trip to The Exumas in The Bahamas. I remember sitting down at the table on the deck of the house we rented and writing the book in like 3 days. This was the easy part! Then came the edits, the design and the layout. Sean, who did the illustrations, did an incredible job of bringing Norman to life.


Q:) What’s your proudest moment or greatest accomplishment thus far?


I am really proud of how much Sharks4Kids has grown! I am so luck to work with an incredible team of people who make our program possible. When a kid creates a poster or a video or becomes a shark advocate, it inspires me; it reminds me that there is hope and we can make a difference.


 

Don't forget to follow Jillian and Sharks4Kids on social media!

You can also donate and help support shark saving efforts directly HERE

33 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page