top of page

SharkFluencer: ANDRE M. GOOLISHIAN HERNANDEZ


It's time to dive into our interview with talented underwater photographer, PADI instructor and community science diver Andres Michael Goolishian Hernandez (he/his/him) - otherwise known as @goolishian_uw_photo on instagram!



"Sharks are not monsters but they are wild animals."

 

Q:) When/where did your love of the ocean and/or sharks begin?


From the very first time I saw a shark in a book and at the local aquarium I have been fascinated by sharks. They are just so beautiful and full of personality. I grew up next to the ocean and my mother was a huge influence in getting hooked on diving and spending time in the ocean.

Q:) Imagine you woke up as a shark tomorrow, which species would you be and why?


I would want to be a tiger shark. That way I could be free to just do what I wanted and be a bright moment in some divers day ( when I wasn't being unfairly hunted and killed for prejudices and negative media campaigns).



Q:) What advice do you have for someone wanting to pursue a career in marine science/photography/videography?


That it doesn't take a whole bunch of expensive schooling or years of study to start doing real impactful science in your area. Photography and videography is getting more and more accessible and affordable, which means more and more people are able to take quality photos with minimal training or buy in.



I guess the advice is, if you want to start doing something towards those goals/ aspirations, just start doing things towards those areas. I got roped into the community scientist scene almost by accident but I just ran with it, with no formal training in marine biology. Now, only a year and a half later, I have taken the first ever photographs of seven species in SITU. Crazy what you can accomplish with effort.


Q:) What actions or conservation milestones are you working toward currently?


I am working with the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute and their Fishes app to help record diagnostic images for public use and consumption. These images will help people be able to correctly identify fish species in their area. I believe with continued additions to this app, we will start to fill in the blanks of how fish in our oceans move, settle, and spread. Which in turn will help policy makers and activists make more conscious and thorough decisions for our oceans.



I would love to photograph and share shark positive content on my page and in a gallery one day, I hope.



Q:) What are some things tourists wanting to go shark diving should look out for from diving operations? Anything you wish more people knew before getting in the water?


Briefings and safe ecological practices. Sharks are not monsters but they are wild animals. Proper and thorough briefings are something any tourist should look out for when going on a shark encounter. I wish more people knew that interactions are far more rewarding when you stay calm and just take it slow when dealing with sharks. No chasing, no aggravating, no touching.


Q:) Do you have a shark scientist/conservationist hero?


André Musgrove from the Bahamas is my shark conservationist hero. He makes independent films and social media content that always portrays sharks in a positive light and encourages people to de stigmatize these animals. I would love to work with André in the future, once my video skills get up to snuff.


Q:) Do you have a very favorite shark/diving memory or favorite dive spot you've traveled?


My favorite memory of sharks is on one particular shark dive where a 13ft pregnant tiger shark decided to flip on her back. (Do not try at home) my safety sausage was off my back D ring and she was curious about it. I felt a bump and assumed it was one of the silly divers on the boat kicking me so I kept manipulating my camera. I felt another bump and told myself to stay calm…. But if they kicked me again we would have words. I finally got my camera ready when I hear the dive guide and my girlfriend go “ooooooooo” (bubbles took their exact words) I felt a bump and a lift and when I looked down I was relieved to see this sharks eyes were open she was just playing with my butt, I flipped off her dorsal fin and started snapping shots, knowing no one would believe me without them. By far my favorite shark encounter.



Q:) How are you impacting ocean conservation in your community?






As a scuba instructor and guide I am always teaching my guests about best practices in the ocean and how they can help us keep our marine area safe and a haven for future fish and tourists.








Q:) Have you found success in handling people that don’t understand or agree with shark conservation efforts? How can people get through to family members or community members that don't care/value sharks and/or the ocean environment?


I had a person I was leading on a dive once to a more shark filled dive site in our area. They told me they would prefer not to see a shark because they didn’t want to die. I informed them that they would be perfectly safe if they remained calm and that if it would help them they could hold my hand while we dove through that area. They hesitantly accepted the offer and we began the dive. First two minutes and the reef sharks were abound all around the group. They squeezed my hand so tight i thought it would break. I calmed them down and showed them that if they stayed calm there was no worries. I even at one point got them to let go of my hand and by the end of the day was referring them to some shark experience centers in Florida so they could have more positive interactions with them. A small win, but a win.

51 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page