top of page

SharkFluencer: EMMA SKINNER

Get ready to e-meet the incredible artist Emma Skinner - @emmaskinnerart! Dubai based Emma is currently working on a series of paintings using acrylics, resin, gold leaf with powder dyes depicting the rich and vivid sea life that is so at risk from mankind.



 

Q.) If you woke up as a shark tomorrow, which species would you be and why?



Without a doubt I would be a whale shark. I love how mysterious they are, relatively very little is known about them. Their random markings of spots and stripes make each one entirely unique. They are elegant and beautiful, gentle giants, cruising the sea for up to 150 years. Peaceful exploration of this planet's oceans sounds like heaven to me.




Q.) What advice do you have for someone wanting to study sharks or want to take part in conservation activities? Any tips/tricks on what to avoid?


Firstly, ignore everything you have ever seen at the movies. Sharks do require caution, as does any wild animal, but don't carry fear with you into the water. Approach your study with an open mind and learn from someone experienced who can inspire you.



Q.) What actions or conservation milestones are you working toward? What’s an ultimate goal for you and your work?



I don't have an ultimate milestone. I believe if I can create small change in even a handful of people, it will increase the collective consciousness to ignite a shift in perception. If YOU, the reader decide to take your own coffee flask to the cafe with you today rather than use a takeaway cup, I see that as an accomplishment. Imagine if every reader did that today; imagine if they all told a friend who did it too. If enough people use their consumer power then companies will change and waste in the oceans will decrease, there lies success.




Q.) Has your success been good for you and your cause- what struggles or lessons have you taken away from your amazing experiences?



I don't know how to measure success with my art. I have no perception of who sees it outside of exhibitions. Social media is a strange animal. I hope people are inspired, I hope we all start to wake up to the extinction level event we are careering towards. We need change how we interact with our environment. Perhaps my cause is too big to be measured. Yet humanity is so creative and inspiring, I love to meet people doing things to make a difference, hearing their ideas and their mission gives me hope. We have huge potential!




Q.) Do you feel there has been a change in how the world views sharks? In your experience has this “Shark stigma” been more positive or negative?


I believe there is a shift in perception towards sharks. Technology is connecting us in a way that has never been possible before. We can see people interacting peacefully with sharks and this message can easily be shared to millions. Now that is incredible!


We have never reached the end of our learning about this fascinating species and the ecosystem is lives in. Keep exploring, listening , exchanging ideas and keep trying to be better. We all can and must do more.



Q.) Who are your role models or shark heroes? Anyone you admire for their actions in conservation?


My all time shark hero is Jim Abernathy. If you haven't seen him look him up immediately! He has an episode on the Netflix series Tales by Light, called "Misunderstood Predators". His passion and documentation of his work is changing perception worldwide. I dream to interact with a large number of sharks on one of Jim Abernathy's diving trips. And to then create a piece of artwork that makes people stop, and think again.



Q.) When did your shark love begin? How did you figure out this is what you wanted to do?


I was 13 when I starting cleaning tanks at my local aquarium supplies store. I worked there every weekend to earn enough money to buy a 'silver shark', a freshwater fish from South East Asia. I was fascinated with its elegance and beauty, as my aquarium set up and knowledge grew, so did my love for all things underwater.



Q.) Have you found success in handling people that don’t understand or agree with conservation efforts? Have you found a way to get through to people/communities that may not care about animals/the environment?


I have found that if a mind is closed it is very hard to open it. The warnings that are being heard in the media scares some people into burying their heads in the sand. They refuse to hear and to see. I try to be gentle, even a small change in these instances can spark a greater one later on. This is hard for me as I want everything to change all at once. I'm trying to practice patience, but it is frustrating.



Q.) In your opinion, what is the most impactful action that someone can take to save sharks?


Never buying any shark products or buying from a company that participates in the shark hunting industry. Our greatest power is consumer power. Just say NO!



Q.) What’s your proudest moment or greatest accomplishment in regard to shark conservation?


I entered the Glowing Gone initiative to raise awareness of coral bleaching. Just before coral dies it glows blue, purple or yellow. The brief was to create a piece of art in these colours to support the effort. I created a whale shark swimming over a reef of broken butterfly wings. It was chosen to be featured on a video billboard at Times Square, New York. I was incredibly proud to see it center stage in the fight to save the reef. A stark reminder of what will be lost.



Q.) What advice would you give people looking to dive with sharks? What should they look out for in regard to eco tours/ shark diving companies?


If you are inexperienced you must always dive with a reputable shark diving company. Check to see if the company is involved in maintaining the ecosystem they work in, are registering shark movements or research. Ethical companies need support, again consumer power is key!

19 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page