top of page

SharkFluencer: ELISE HAYDEN



We've got a special treat with our next interview! E-meet marine biologist and proud 'Stingray Chaser' Elise Hayden (she/her/hers) - @elise_the_mermaid and @elisemobranchii!




"Getting people interested is the first step to getting them involved!"




Q:) When/where did your love of the ocean and sharks begin?


I’m not quite sure when that fascination turned into an all-out obsession with sharks, but I do know that I wasn’t able to shake it once it started! I grew up loving all kinds of animals as a kid, but I especially loved the ones that live in the ocean. Ever since I can remember, I’ve been working toward becoming a shark scientist - in 4th grade, I wrote a research paper about White Sharks.


Growing up in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, I didn’t have many opportunities to interact with sharks locally. I was fortunate in that my family had the means to travel to the ocean, visit aquariums, and take me to swim with sharks when I was in high school! That first time in the water with them, I knew I’d never be able to give up on my passion for shark conservation.


Since then, I’ve worked in an environmental toxicology lab at the School of Freshwater Sciences at my university, finished my degree in Biological Sciences with minors in Conservation + Environmental Science and French, and completed an internship at the Discovery World Reiman Aquarium in Milwaukee.


I’m currently working with the Bimini Biological Field Station Foundation (BBFSF or the Bimini Shark Lab) on a project of my own design which involves active acoustic telemetry and the analysis of historical data to observe potential movement patterns in the Bimini Southern Stingray (Hypanus americanus) population. Almost 10 years after my first wild shark encounter, I feel so lucky to have already reached many of my career goals! I’m so excited to see what I’ll do next!




Q:) What advice do you have for someone wanting to pursue a career in marine biology? Do you have any suggestions or lessons learned you'd like to share?



First, there is no right way to get involved in marine science. Don’t be afraid to make your own path, get it wrong, or fail. Also, remember it’s never too late to get started and that science is for everyone! Lastly, don’t forget the importance of creativity in this field - every scientific study starts with a novel question and someone who’s willing to try to answer it!


On a realer note, some of the most exciting opportunities in marine science right now are unpaid, or require a fee to participate. Luckily, there are scholarships! Before ruling out an opportunity, do look into what financial aid may be available to you. Minorities in Shark Sciences (MISS) has lots of resources, including partnerships with Bimini Shark Lab and Field School in Miami.





Q:) What actions or conservation milestones are you working toward currently? How do you think/what actions can we use to effectively save our oceans?


Even though I don’t currently live near an ocean, I’m doing my best to find ways to stay involved in conservation efforts. I’m working one day a week at Shedd Aquarium as an Animal Care volunteer and I love when guests approach me to ask about what I’m doing and the animals I’m working with. Getting people interested is the first step to getting them involved!


I’m also organizing public beach clean-ups in the Chicago area. As a Midwesterner who grew up on Lake Michigan, I’m really passionate about Great Lakes and freshwater conservation. Facilitating community efforts toward cleaner beaches has been a great way to connect with people who love our lake as much as I do!

Conservation isn’t one-size-fits-all. Do what works best for you, your lifestyle, and your community! And remember, don’t be too hard on yourself - one person can’t fix the world on their own but many of us taking small steps in the right direction can add up to big change.


Q:) Who do you admire for their actions in (or someone you'd want to work with in the future) and why?



Dr. Ayana Elizabeth Johnson! Everything she touches is gold. My favorite project of hers right now is the podcast, How to Save A Planet”. Her career is so full of amazing stuff that I couldn’t sum it up here and do it all justice. Please check her out!



Q:) Do you have a very favorite shark/diving memory to share?


While working at the Bimini Shark Lab, I had SO many incredible opportunities to work and interact with many different shark species. One day that comes to mind is the first time I swam with a Great Hammerhead (Sphyrna mokarran).

I was at a provisioning site that PI Vital Heim, my project advisor, uses for his research. When I got in the water, there were a few nurse sharks around, but no other sharks. We waited. Finally, I heard Vital say, “We’ve got a Hammer!” I looked down. There was Medusa, a shark commonly seen at this site, swimming a few meters below. I gasped into my snorkel - she was huge!

I later learned that she’s small compared to some of the other regulars but she was still nearly twice my size. As the dive continued, Medusa moved up in the water column and took turns checking out each snorkeler in the hopes that someone would feed her - this is a provisioning site after all.



This amazing behavior went on for at least an hour! I had never experienced something as thrilling as being approached over and over again by an adult Great Hammerhead shark, and I’ve been hooked ever since. Hammer Dives quickly became one of my favorite activities at the Shark Lab and Great Hammerheads now hold the #1 spot on my list of favorite shark species!



Q:) What's your future goal with sharks or goal in future career endeavours?

My biggest goal right now is to publish my Southern Stingray research. I completed the field component of the project in April 2021. Now I’m working on finishing up my data analysis and writing a manuscript.


In the future, I’d like to go to graduate school and work on more research projects that I hope will contribute to marine conservation efforts. I’d LOVE to keep working with sharks and rays! In general, I’d like to find ways to get more people involved in research, create opportunities for people from underrepresented groups in STEM, and create space “at the table” so that everyone can find ways to ask and answer questions using science.



The people most affected by current and future conservation issues should be the first involved in this process but they’re often left out of the equation so I’d like to aid in closing that communication gap throughout my scientific career.

 

Q:) What’s your proudest moment or greatest accomplishment in regard to conservation?



I’ve always been obsessed with sharks so to some it would seem obvious that I would end up in the position I’m in now. However, I think it’s important to note that I applied to be part of research at the Bimini Shark Lab THREE (3) times! While I was interviewed each time, I wasn’t accepted to the program on my first two attempts. It wasn’t until about a year after my first attempt that I decided to apply for a third time, this time for a Project Student position. After my interview, I was invited to submit a research proposal. I only had one week to get it done and I had never written one before but I gave it my all.




To have my first ever research proposal - my very own research ideas - accepted by a Great Hammerhead scientist at BBFSF, the lab of my dreams, is easily my greatest scientific accomplishment so far!



More recently, I spotted myself in the background of the show “Shark Academy” on Shark Week, which filmed in Bimini during my time at the Shark Lab. My inner child screeched!


105 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page