top of page

SharkFluencer: "Sharks aren't man eaters but they aren't puppy dogs either"


Aloha shark pals! We're thrilled to get some time with the well-known mermaid swimming around your social media feed Mrs. Kayleigh Grant - @mermaid_kayleigh



 

Q.) If you woke up as a shark tomorrow, which species would you be and why?



Although Tiger Sharks are my favorite sharks to swim with, my personality would probably more suit an Oceanic White Tip. They are confident, unique, and curious. This species will keep you on your toes. 








Q.) Where/when did your shark love begin?


Growing up in an era of The Little Mermaid and Free Willy, I have always been extremely fascinated by the ocean. When you’re a kid your imagination is so significant & intense. I distinctly remember my dad taking me on a whale watching trip to Massachusetts and seeing Humpbacks for the first time. Their dancing and spinning on the surface was so awe-inspiring to me.


After moving to Hawaii many years later, I was suddenly in the most isolated land mass in the entire world surrounded by water. At this point my dream of the water was undeniable.


I began to take up scuba diving and was back in school at University of Hawaii in the Marine Options Program. The water healed my heart and ignited my soul. I was hooked. I had made the decision that this would be my career choice and I wouldn’t settle to do anything that didn’t make me feel alive and happy.


The universe had brought me to meet my now boss and one of my best friends, Ocean Ramsey, and she saw the passion for the ocean we both shared. She had started an amazing organization called One Ocean Diving and took me shark diving for my first time.



The moment my mask hit the water everything became silent and peaceful. The sharks were entirely engulfed by the deep royal blue pelagic water, swimming effortlessly and gracefully. The experience wasn’t at all what most would think about swimming with sharks (scary and intense). From that moment on, I knew sharks would be in my life forever. 



Q.) What advice do you have for someone wanting to study sharks or want to take part in conservation activities? 


The best part of conservation is that ANYONE can be a conservationist or make conservation efforts! Skipping meat on a Monday or for one meal a day is an effort in conservation. Bringing your own re-usable bag to the store is an effort in conservation. Eating less seafood is tremendously beneficial to the ocean. Shutting off the water while brushing your teeth is practicing water conservation. There are so many ways to get involved from big to small and it's important to do your best and do what you can consciously while also inspiring others to do the same. 


It's important to educate others in an open way rather then in a mean negative way as this can make people shut off and shut down. Just be open and informative.


Q.) What actions or milestones are you working toward? What’s an ultimate goal for you and your work?


I am lucky enough to take people diving with sharks on a daily basis at One Ocean Diving, so I am always striving to change perceptions around sharks into understanding and appreciation rather than fear and lack of education.


At One Ocean, we are always supporting conservation efforts around the globe as well as trying to gain more protection for our sharks here in Hawaii. With One Ocean Education we can educate the local children on the importance of our oceans and with One Ocean Conservation we are able to clean our local beaches.


Another very important topic close to my heart is reef safe sunscreen and educating others on what that means. I use All Good Brand sunscreen which uses zinc and is safe for the reef. Stay away from any chemicals in sunscreen. 



Q.) Has your success been good for you and your cause- what struggles or lessons have you taken away from your amazing experiences?


I think becoming successful can give you more opportunities to get your message out there into the world. Luckily, with social media we are able to reach a broader audience and connect with others around the globe!


For us, we want to change perceptions of sharks around the world and put an end to harmful fishing practices, shark fishing, shark fin soup, and shark fishing for sport.





By being able to connect with and educate other cultures that may practice these methods it allows us to make change. Awareness is also an important aspect of conservation. Without shining a light on issues, it allows them to stay in the dark and change doesn't occur. 







Q.) Do you feel there has been a change in how the world views sharks? In your experience has this “Shark stigma” been more positive or negative?


I have seen a positive change for sharks in the last five years! While this is amazing it is still an uphill battle. I have found that for as many people as I am able to convince to love sharks, there will still always be others who refuse to see the beauty and importance of them. There will always be long lining, commercial fishing, shark fishing, shark fining.










To try to convince others that sharks have value, even if they don't directly interact with them in their daily lives, is difficult. How do you convince someone that would otherwise never see a shark that they need to help protect them?




Luckily, imagery and social media platforms has allowed us to reach an audience on all corners of the globe. When we were all lucky enough to swim with a Great White Shark peacefully here in Hawaii, it made global news and for a short while it got the whole world fascinated with a shark!




Q.) Any shark research you are working on or particularly excited about that other people/groups are doing?


I am really excited to see what my good friend Kori Garza is working on with her partner Pierrick Seybald in French Polynesia. They have been striving to protect the sharks of French Polynesia with their organization Mao Mana Foundation. I am also grateful for friend, Etoile Smulders work in Indonesia focused on shark conservation efforts there. 


Q.) Who are your role models or shark heroes? Anyone you admire for their actions in conservation?


Since I work for One Ocean Diving, I get to see first hand the hard work and dedication that Ocean Ramsey and Juan Oliphant put in constantly. They work tirelessly to give a voice for sharks and have developed many avenues for the public to experience sharks and become educated. They give others an opportunity to get involved and become conservationists themselves. 



Q.) Have you found success in handling people that don’t understand or agree with conservation efforts? Have you found a way to get through to people/communities that may not care about animals/the environment? 


It’s really hard to inspire some people to want to connect with nature in this modern era of technology. I have found the best way to get people to feel a part of nature is to bring them in to experience themselves. I am so fortunate to be that bridge for people and the ocean. My husband Cam and I have started our organization Faraway Seas to do just that and get people into the ocean and fall in love. Once people see that nature isn't the enemy, doesn't want to hurt you, and that they are actually a part of it, that's when the magic happens. Again, I think it's also about your approach. Some people will never go vegan so don't jam that down their throats and make them feel guilty. That won't work with certain demographics and will shut people off.



It's important [for people] to encourage little steps if they can to conservation and create a good starting point of openness and education. That has worked the best for me. 


Q.) In your opinion, what is the most impactful action that someone can take to save sharks?


Commercial fishing is the largest issue in our oceans today. Between long-lining, shark fining, trawling, discarded fishing supplies, etc commercial fishing is taking from the ocean indiscriminately and causing a massive loss of life.


If you really want to protect the ocean eat less seafood, eat no sea food, eat sustainable seafood you caught yourself with no by-catch, eat invasive species, learn more of what is sustainable to eat in your area by checking out seafoodwatch.org. They even have an app!





Eating less or no meat is also a great place to start being a conservationist for the planet. Even if it is a meatless Monday or meatless meal a day, start somewhere and take what steps you can rather than no steps at all. 



Q.) What’s your proudest moment or greatest accomplishment in regard to sharks/conservation?

When our team at One Ocean Diving was lucky enough to swim with the beautiful Great White Shark off Oahu, Hawaii, that made me so happy to see people all around the globe for that moment in time fully fascinated in sharks! It was such a special moment to be a part of and it made news across the globe. I think that was a real win for sharks. 




Q.) What’s your ultimate shark or diving dream?


My next dream would be to be in the presence of Orca. I have loved Orca whales since I was a little kid watching Free Willy. To be able to witness them in the water and possibly interact would be living my childhood dream!



Q.) What advice would you give people looking to dive with sharks? What should they look out for in regard to eco tours/ shark diving companies?





I would definitely look into going with professionals. Do your research on the company you're going with. Sharks aren't man eaters but they aren't puppy dogs either. Make sure its a safe environment and I can personally vouch for One Ocean Diving and would love to introduce anyone to sharks! We have 100% perfect safety record. I would also look into if the company practices good conservation efforts as well. Thats always a huge bonus. But do it. You wont regret it and its really amazing to see them in their natural environment. You will instantly fall in love with sharks!

42 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page