top of page

SharkFluencer: MACKENNA CADY



Her fun colorful style and eco-focuses will captivate you! We're heading to Hawaii to meet the amazing Mackenna Cady, an activist that's using her art to inspire change and save the seas.



"It took me many years to overcome my deeply-rooted fear of sharks."

There has been a special place in my heart for the ocean for as long as I can remember. My intrigue for the underwater world grew significantly when I moved to Hawai’i at nine years old. From my perspective, it’s impossible to not develop an infatuation and appreciation for the sea when you spend time immersed in that environment. It’s phenomenal!


 

Q:) What interests/excites you most about your art? How did you get started? 


I’ve loved making art from the moment I learned how to hold a crayon. I’ve always had an interest in the area, and it’s only escalated as I’ve gotten older. One of my favorite aspects of art, and a large portion of why I even still draw as much as I do, is its ability to speak to people in ways that words sometimes cannot. It’s such a humbling experience to pour a piece of my soul into a design with a conservation message, and to have others like it enough to want to share it with their followers.



It’s really encouraging to see that both as an artist and a conservationist. I am endlessly grateful. Art in all its forms—drawings, paintings, photography, music, etc.—is an tremendously powerful tool in important movements, continuing to motivate me to play my small part in bringing attention to significant issues through my creations. 



Q:) Imagine you woke up tomorrow as a shark! Which species would you be and why?


If I woke up tomorrow as a shark, I would 100% want to be a whale shark! They’ve been my favorite shark species right from the start, being the beautiful and gentle giants that they are. I haven’t seen one in person yet, but hopefully someday.


With sharks on the other hand, it took me many years to overcome my deeply-rooted fear of them. My irrational and dramatized perception of them is largely due to how these animals are portrayed in the media and entertainment. However, once I learned about how beautiful, intelligent, and incredible sharks are in reality through a bit of online research, they became one of my favorite animals!

photo by: Kayleigh Grant


If I could choose any sea creature, though, I’d want to be a pink pygmy seahorse! I know that’s random and I don’t really have a strong reason other than the fact that I think they’re so cute, haha! I have a saved folder on Instagram dedicated to adorable pictures of them. 


Q:) What advice do you have for someone wanting to act against plastic pollution? Or any suggestions of how someone can help lessen other eco-threats?

For anyone wanting to act against plastic pollution, I recommend starting in small steps. When you first learn all the heartbreaking information, it’s easy to try to do everything possible to help, but you’ll likely get too overwhelmed and burn yourself out. I think it’s essential to remember that the vast majority of the responsibility falls on the big, wealthy corporations extracting, producing, and advertising so many plastic products in the first place.



It’s vital to have policies in place that will benefit the planet (which, of course, benefits humans and other living things, too) and will hold these corporations responsible. Hence, there’s immense value in voting for leaders who understand the importance of caring for the Earth. Additionally, we can all help by signing petitions and submitting testimonies for legislative conservation bills.


However, for those of us with the ability to do so, there are several awesome ways to start getting involved on the individual lifestyle scale. Reducing your use of single-use plastic (straws, bottles, bags, etc.) is a wonderful way to begin, and not buying new polyester clothing, which is what most fast fashion is made of. 


Q:) How are you impacting ocean conservation in your community? Any success stories or interactions you'd like to share?

Prior to Covid-19, my friends and I would help a local shark conservation group host monthly reef and beach cleanups open to the community. While beach cleanups aren’t the solution for fixing the amount of plastic debris in the environment, it’s a fantastic way to find like-minded people and spread awareness on the very real problem that is plastic pollution. I’ve been fortunate enough to chat with several new volunteers about the plastic crisis and teach them some ways to get involved in the cause.



Also, over the years, our community has helped pass several environmental legislative bills by submitting testimonies, such as phasing out single-use plastic and taking steps towards banning reef-damaging sunscreen. These positive strides are by no means due to my efforts alone. I’m truly such a small drop in the wave of ocean conservation here, but it’s a privilege to be apart of it. 




Q:) Have you found success in handling people that don’t understand or agree with shark conservation efforts? How can people get through to family members or community members that don't care/value about sharks/the environment?  



Convincing family members and others to act for the planet has been quite hit-or-miss in my experience. There are some people who are not interested at all, no matter what I share, and so I don’t waste too much energy on people like that. I set myself up for disappointment otherwise. Instead, I try to trust that they’ll open their eyes when the time comes, and it may not happen because of me. Most cases, though, I’ve found that sharing facts with people in a way that’s understanding and non-judgmental can help “plant the seed” in their minds.

For family members who are mortified of sharks, I express how I also used to be afraid of them, followed up with some facts I’ve learned that helped me see sharks in a different light. Furthermore, I usually share with them that regardless of what we feel about sharks, they are a necessity for a healthy ocean, which we rely on for survival. Most people I’ve talked to will agree afterwards that sharks shouldn’t be senselessly killed, despite whether or not they still personally think negatively of them.


In regards to addressing other environmental threats, it’s crucial to share how human beings are being affected, not only the planet and animals. Some may perceive conservationists as 'tree-huggers' and fighting to protect endangered species, but it’s so much more vast than that. For instance, frontline communities (such as low-income, Black, Indigenous, communities of color) are already facing the early impacts of the climate crisis. All of that to say, lots of people are unaware that these problems exist, prohibiting them from having a chance to care. We can’t expect people to change overnight, but information is a compelling method to help rally for a cause & convince people overtime to make a difference. 


I love the ocean and its animals so greatly that I wanted to become a marine biologist for many years growing up. Once I realized how extensively math and science was involved, though (neither of which were subjects that I found myself interested in pursuing), I decided to take more of an “ocean and environmental conservation” route. That’s where I’m at now—continuously learning about and advocating for the importance of conserving the environment. 

Q:) What's your future goal with sharks or goal in future career endeavours?


As of right now, I don’t have a particular career goal that I’m pursuing. At the moment, I’m spending time learning about environmental topics and exploring potential career options, so I can be more informed on the issues close to my heart while gradually discovering where I may want to go with my life. I am certain, though, that I want to keep growing as a conservationist and continue becoming more involved in the fight against climate change.


I hope that whatever I end up doing that it ties back into conservation and advocacy in some way because it’s truly a long-lasting passion of mine, and it’s pivotal in ensuring the future of the the ocean, the land, animals, my generation, and generations that come afterwards.

19 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page