top of page

SharkFluencer: "My first memories are exploring the tide pools in Puerto Rico"



Well-regarded TEDx speaker, writer for Forbes Science, and founder of The Fins United Initiative, Melissa Cristina Márquez- @melissacristinamarquez shares her passion and shark visions for the future with us!


 

Follow her adventures on twitter & check out her website for more from this inspiring Marine Biologist!






Q.) If you woke up as a shark tomorrow, which species would you be and why?

I'd like to think I'm like the tiger shark (Galeocerdo cuvier) because I am constantly eating things and really curious to the point of it being annoying sometimes, haha.



Q.) Where/when did your shark love begin? How did you figure out this is what you wanted to do?







I am fascinated with the natural world– especially the ocean! I just wanted to learn more about it, and my first memories are exploring the tide pools in Puerto Rico. I’m still just as curious about the ocean today and that’s why I’ve dedicated my life to studying the animals in it.









Q.) What advice do you have for someone wanting to study sharks or want to take part in conservation activities? Any tips/tricks on what to avoid?


I would say do a lot of research on the different conservation activities out there/programs offered at universities to pick one that is right for you and your goals. Google will be your best friend!



Q.) What actions or conservation milestones are you working toward? What’s the ultimate goal for you and your work?


I have big dreams—I like having goals that scare me. I first and foremost want to continue my work with The Fins United Initiative, making it a true non-profit organisation with a structural home base that will act as an aquarium and research hub. I also hope to finish my Ph.D. in the next couple of years, focusing my work on marine outreach – making sure the public gets reliable information about sharks and their relatives (to help them better understand/back policies)! Some other dreams include joining many of my idols in being a National Geographic Fellow/Explorer, a Pew Fellow in Marine Conservation, a TED Fellow, a WEF Young Global Leader, and get in the Forbes 30 under 30. I’ve got some work to do! 



Q.) Has your success been good for you and your cause- what struggles or lessons have you taken away from your amazing experiences?


The biggest lesson I’ve taken away is that science is increasingly becoming a “collaboration > competition” industry—something I really do enjoy and try to advocate in my projects! I have gotten to where I am today thanks to the support and help of many friends, advocates, colleagues, mentors, etc.


Q.) Do you feel there has been a change in how the world views sharks? In your experience has this “Shark stigma” been more positive or negative?


While I have seen more people be positive towards sharks recently, unfortunately the majority still fears sharks and sees them negatively. You can’t really blame them when the content they ingest about sharks is negative (from newspaper articles to movies). I don’t think we will ever ‘get over’ our fear of sharks, but I hope one day we can co-exist with them.


Q.) Any shark research you are working on or particularly excited about that other people/groups are doing? 

I'm currently working on my PhD, a project that looks at the marine technology scientists currently use to study assemblages, such as drones and baited remote underwater cameras (BRUVs). This is with a particular focus on shark assemblages within a number of study sites in the Indian Ocean. I am also looking at human-wildlife conflict (how it has evolved throughout our history) with sharks and how to make shark education and outreach more effective.


Q.) Who are your role models or shark heroes? Anyone you admire for their actions in conservation?



David Attenborough, Sylvia Earle, and Eugenie Clark. These three have really shaped how I seen the natural world and have been inspirations for me to follow.




Q.) Have you found success in handling people that don’t understand or agree with conservation efforts? Have you found a way to get through to people/communities that may not care about animals/the environment? 


I found that an open dialogue – such as actively listening, no putdowns – works with most people. However sometimes it is wasting both your time and theirs when neither is open to having a respectful conservation and it is best to just walk away.


Q.) In your opinion, what is the most impactful action that someone can take to save sharks?






Overfishing and bycatch are by far the biggest threats sharks face, so I would say that making sure your seafood is sustainable (or just not eating seafood) is the best way to help sharks. Other ways are donating your time and money to reputable shark organisations, spreading correct information about these important predators, and reducing your plastic/carbon footprint.






Q.) What’s your ultimate shark or diving dream? Life sharky goal?




I’m looking forward to swimming with whale sharks in Ningaloo soon! It’s been a life-long dream of mine.





Q: What advice would you give people looking to dive with sharks? What should they look out for in regard to eco tours/ shark diving companies?



Do your research in who is eco-certified and not. Anything from Google reviews to local testimonials can help you figure which companies are reputable and which are not.

37 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page